The Commonwealth of Virginia has minimal requirements when it comes to car insurance and does not require a licensed driver to carry car insurance at all. It is legal to drive in Virginia as long as you have a license, the car is registered with the state, and you either have insurance or pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the state.
As a driver, this may frighten you. What is going to happen to you if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver? The $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee that the other driver was required to pay to the state is not a form of insurance. The state has no responsibility to pay for your accident injuries. The uninsured driver who caused your accident injuries does have the responsibility to pay for your injuries, but will he be able to do so? What if he’s not?
If the Other Driver Can’t Pay, Then You Need Another Source
You don’t want that source to be your own bank account. Accordingly, it is important to purchase uninsured motorist coverage as part of your own auto insurance policy. Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional add-on to your car insurance policy. It is not required by the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Yet, it is important. If you are injured in an accident with an uninsured motorist who lacks the means to pay for your accident injuries then your own insurance company becomes responsible for paying for your accident injuries. It is too late to purchase this insurance after you have already been in a crash. Instead, the insurance must be in place prior to the accident occurring.
Contact a Virginia Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer for More Information
You may need legal help to recover what is rightfully yours after an accident with an uninsured motorist. An experienced Virginia uninsured motorist accident attorney can help you get the recovery you need. For more information, and to schedule a free consultation, please contact an uninsured motorist lawyer in Culpeper today at 540-825-6046 or 800-741-1012.